Divorce

The partition of assets following a divorce requires special attention. Several factors must be taken into account, like to which categories of goods the assets belong. The partition can also be subject, in certain cases, to compensation.

 

Marriage contract

The marriage contract, usually signed a few days before the solemnization of marriage, defines the matrimonial regime and the partition of assets in case of separation or divorce. If no marriage contract was signed before the solemnization of their marriage, the matrimonial regime of the spouses is governed by the law of their domicile at the time of their marriage.

Matrimonial regime

The most common matrimonial regimes are the matrimonial community, the separation as to property and the partnership of acquests. A marriage solemnized in Québec without prior marriage contract, as it is often the case, is governed by the matrimonial regime of the partnership of acquests.

Partnership of acquests

According to the regime of partnership of acquests all property issued from incomes earned during marriage belong to both spouses, no matter which one holds the legal ownership of the property. Property owned by a spouse before marriage, as well as inheritance and gifts are considered private property.

Family patrimony

Spouses domiciled in Québec are subject to the provisions of family patrimony. According to the rules of family patrimony, certain types of property must be equally divided between the spouses regardless of which one of them holds a right of ownership in that property and regardless of their matrimonial regime. The spouses may not, by way of a marriage contract or otherwise, renounce their rights in the family patrimony.

The family property is composed of the residences of the family, including secondary residences, the movable property furnishing and decorating the family residences, the motor vehicles used for family travel and the benefits accrued during the marriage under a retirement plan.

Difference between ownership, family patrimony and partition of property

The difference between ownership, family patrimony and partition of property may be sometimes confusing.

Here is an example:

At the time of marriage the husband owned a house, a summer camp and a car while the wife owned a car. The house and the summer camp were used by the family while the husband’s car was strictly used for his business travels. The wife’s car was used for the family. Each one of those properties is still registered to the sole name of the spouse who owned it before marriage.

According to the rules of the familial patrimony the house, the summer camp and the wife’s car are all part of the family patrimony, no matter which one of the spouses owned them before the marriage and no matter the provisions of a marriage contact they may have signed before or after marriage. The husband’s car however is not part of the the family patrimony since it is not usually used for the family.

For the purpose of the family patrimony partition however, only the increase of value of those properties during the marriage will be taken into account in the calculation of the value of the family patrimony.

Unequal partition of the Québec Pension Plan

It is possible, under certain circumstance to obtain an unequal partition of the Québec Pension Plan or similar plans if an equal partition would result in an injustice considering, in particular, the brevity of the marriage, the waste of certain property by one of the spouses, or the bad faith of one of them.

Compensatory Allowance

It is possible for a spouse to obtain at the moment of partition a compensatory allowance as compensation for his or her contribution to the enrichment of the other spouse. This could be the case, for example, when one of the spouses worked without salary or for a reduced salary for the business of the other spouse resulting in an enrichment of the latter.

Divorce

Le partage des biens suite au divorce requiert une attention particulière.  Ce partage en effet doit tenir compte de nombreux facteurs, dont la catégorie à laquelle les biens appartiennent, et peut être sujet, dans certains cas, à une compensation.

Contrat de mariage

Le contrat de mariage, signé généralement quelques jours avant le mariage, définit le régime matrimonial et le partage des biens en cas de séparation ou de divorce. À défaut d’un contrat de mariage signé par les époux avant le mariage, c’est le régime légal du lieu où le mariage a été célébré qui définit le régime matrimonial et le partage des biens.

Régime matrimonial

Les principaux régimes matrimoniaux sont la communauté de biens, la séparation de biens et la société d’acquêts. Si le mariage a été célébré au Québec sans contrat de mariage, comme c’est souvent le cas, c’est le régime de la société d’acquêts qui régit le mariage.

Société d’acquêts

En vertu de la société d’acquêts tous les biens provenant de revenus gagnés pendant le mariage appartiennent aux deux conjoints, peu importe lequel en est le propriétaire légal. Les biens que possédaient les époux avant le mariage, ainsi que les héritages et dons sont des biens appartenant en propre à l’époux qui les possède.

Patrimoine familial

Les époux domiciliés au Québec sont soumis aux dispositions du patrimoine familial. En vertu des règles régissant le patrimoine familial, certains biens doivent être divisés à parts égales entre les époux, peu importe leur régime matrimonial. Il n’est pas possible de déroger aux dispositions du patrimoine familial par un contrat de mariage.

Les biens constituant le patrimoine familial sont les résidences de la famille, incluant les résidences secondaires, les meubles meublant ces résidences, les véhicules automobiles utilisés pour les déplacements de la famille, ainsi que les droits accumulés durant le mariage à titre d’un régime de retraite.

Distinction entre propriété, patrimoine familial et partage

La distinction entre propriété, patrimoine familial et partage prête souvent à confusion. Donnons un exemple :

Au moment du mariage, l’époux possède une maison, un chalet et une automobile, alors que l’épouse ne possède qu’une automobile. La maison et le chalet de l’époux sont utilisés par la famille, alors que son automobile ne sert qu’à ses déplacements d’affaires. L’automobile de l’épouse est utilisée pour les déplacements de la famille. Tous ces biens sont toujours enregistrés au seul nom de l’époux ou l’épouse qui en était propriétaire avant le mariage.

En vertu des règles du patrimoine familial, l’automobile de l’épouse, la maison et le chalet font partie du patrimoine familial, peu importe qui en était propriétaire au moment du mariage et au nom de qui ces biens sont présentement enregistrés, alors que l’automobile de l’époux n’en fait pas partie.

En ce qui concerne le partage, cependant, seule l’augmentation de la valeur des biens pendant le mariage sera pris en compte dans le calcul du partage du patrimoine familial.

Partage inégal du Régime des rentes du Québec

Il est possible dans certaines circonstances d’obtenir un partage inégal du Régime des rentes du Québec ou de programmes similaires, lorsqu’un partage égal conduirait à une injustice en raison notamment de la brève durée du mariage, de la dilapidation de certains biens par l’un des époux ou de la mauvaise foi de l’un d’eux.

Prestation compensatoire

Il est possible pour un époux d’obtenir, lors du partage, une compensation pour tenir compte de sa contribution à l’enrichissement de l’autre époux; par exemple, lorsqu’il a travaillé gratuitement ou à salaire réduit dans l’entreprise de l’autre époux et que ce dernier s’en est trouvé, en conséquence, enrichi.